libexport.a: Allow malloc(3) failures in client_lookup() and friends
authorChuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Fri, 23 Apr 2010 16:09:35 +0000 (12:09 -0400)
committerSteve Dickson <steved@redhat.com>
Fri, 23 Apr 2010 16:12:10 +0000 (12:12 -0400)
Clean up: Use malloc(3) instead of xmalloc() in client_lookup() and
client_dup(), ensuring that a failed memory allocation here doesn't
cause our process to exit suddenly.

Allocation of nfs_client records and the m_hostname string are now
consistently handled with malloc(3), calloc(3), strdup(3), and
free(3).

Signed-off-by: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Steve Dickson <steved@redhat.com>
support/export/client.c

index 20d662a..eafc2bf 100644 (file)
@@ -17,7 +17,7 @@
 #include <string.h>
 #include <ctype.h>
 #include <netdb.h>
-#include "xmalloc.h"
+
 #include "misc.h"
 #include "nfslib.h"
 #include "exportfs.h"
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ static void
 client_free(nfs_client *clp)
 {
        free(clp->m_hostname);
-       xfree(clp);
+       free(clp);
 }
 
 /* if canonical is set, then we *know* this is already a canonical name
@@ -111,9 +111,10 @@ client_lookup(char *hname, int canonical)
                }
        }
 
-       if (!clp) {
-               clp = (nfs_client *) xmalloc(sizeof(*clp));
-               memset(clp, 0, sizeof(*clp));
+       if (clp == NULL) {
+               clp = calloc(1, sizeof(*clp));
+               if (clp == NULL)
+                       goto out;
                clp->m_type = htype;
                if (!client_init(clp, hname, NULL)) {
                        client_free(clp);
@@ -138,7 +139,9 @@ client_dup(nfs_client *clp, struct hostent *hp)
 {
        nfs_client              *new;
 
-       new = (nfs_client *) xmalloc(sizeof(*new));
+       new = (nfs_client *)malloc(sizeof(*new));
+       if (new == NULL)
+               return NULL;
        memcpy(new, clp, sizeof(*new));
        new->m_type = MCL_FQDN;
        new->m_hostname = NULL;