update manpages for showmount and mountd
authorJeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Mon, 7 May 2007 11:53:32 +0000 (07:53 -0400)
committerNeil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Tue, 8 May 2007 04:38:14 +0000 (14:38 +1000)
This patch updates the manpages for showmount and mountd. It adds a
description of the new mountd -r option, and a caveat about the unreliability
of showmount -a.

Signed-off-by: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
utils/mountd/mountd.man
utils/showmount/showmount.man

index f8646d4..4276663 100644 (file)
@@ -125,6 +125,13 @@ If this option is not specified the default of
 .BR /var/lib/nfs
 is used.
 .TP
+.BI "\-r," "" " \-\-reverse\-lookup"
+mountd tracks IP addresses in the rmtab, and when a DUMP request is made (by
+someone running showmount -a, for instance), it returns IP addresses instead
+of hostnames by default. This option causes mountd to do a reverse
+lookup on each IP address and return that hostname instead. Enabling this can
+have a substantial negative effect on performance in some situations.
+.TP
 .BR "\-t N" " or " "\-\-num\-threads=N"
 This option specifies the number of worker threads that rpc.mountd
 spawns.  The default is 1 thread, which is probably enough.  More
index 5162ba4..a2f510f 100644 (file)
@@ -25,8 +25,10 @@ appear as though it were processed through ``sort \-u''.
 .SH OPTIONS
 .TP
 .BR \-a " or " \-\-all
-List both the client hostname and mounted directory in
-host:dir format.
+List both the client hostname or IP address and mounted directory in
+host:dir format. This info should not be considered reliable. See the notes
+on rmtab in 
+.BR rpc.mountd (8).
 .TP
 .BR \-d " or " \-\-directories
 List only the directories mounted by some client.