Imported Debian patch 1.0.9-6 debian/1%1.0.9-6
authorSteinar H. Gunderson <sesse@debian.org>
Mon, 7 Aug 2006 19:27:37 +0000 (21:27 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 14 Jul 2010 01:37:12 +0000 (02:37 +0100)
debian/changelog
debian/nfs-common.init
debian/nfs-kernel-server.postinst

index d09b237..84c9923 100644 (file)
@@ -1,3 +1,13 @@
+nfs-utils (1:1.0.9-6) unstable; urgency=low
+
+  * Enable idmapd by default if we find an /etc/exports file, as NFSv4 exports
+    need idmapd. (See the init script for the complete reasoning). Also start
+    nfs-common on initial installation of nfs-kernel-server, as we don't want
+    to reboot or restart nfs-common manually just to get idmapd working the
+    first time. (Closes: #381366)
+
+ -- Steinar H. Gunderson <sesse@debian.org>  Mon,  7 Aug 2006 21:27:37 +0200
+
 nfs-utils (1:1.0.9-5) unstable; urgency=low
 
   * Put rpc.svcgssd back into place; removing it was obviously not what
index 5c34c9e..f397e64 100644 (file)
@@ -76,6 +76,20 @@ done
 
 exec 0<&9 9<&-
 
+#
+# We also need idmapd if we run an NFSv4 server. It's fairly difficult
+# to autodetect whether there are NFSv4 exports or not, and idmapd is not a
+# particularily heavy daemon, so we auto-enable it if we find an /etc/exports
+# file. This does not mean that there are NFSv4 or other mounts active (or
+# even that nfs-kernel-server is installed), but it matches what the "start"
+# condition in nfs-kernel-server's init script does, which has a value in
+# itself.
+#
+if [ -f /etc/exports ]; then
+    AUTO_NEED_IDMAPD=yes
+fi
+
+
 case "$NEED_IDMAPD" in
     yes|no)    
         ;;
index f7dbc25..5788144 100644 (file)
@@ -19,4 +19,5 @@ esac
 
 act="restart"
 [ "$1:$2" = "configure:" ] && act="start"
+[ "$1:$2" = "configure:" ] && invoke-rc.d nfs-common start
 invoke-rc.d nfs-kernel-server $act