Reduce showmount timeouts.
authorIan Kent <raven@themaw.net>
Tue, 19 Dec 2006 11:16:17 +0000 (20:16 +0900)
committerNeil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Tue, 19 Dec 2006 19:24:55 +0000 (06:24 +1100)
commita68d983fb3b571720eb94f68d56e8849583a2a21
tree900c9616a73ccd2b45111b94cda1301a13971a70
parentfd1b52710313d01f537a1afcba1a7a4d67ab8ac7
Reduce showmount timeouts.

Showmount itself tries to use a short timeout but
the RPC clnttcp_create and clntudp_create calls will call portmap
internally to get the port to use if it is set to 0 in the passed
address structure. The above calls then use the internal timeouts,
 basically 60 seconds, which slows things down. Also the for tcp a
blocking connect is used which can take quite a while to timeout as
well.

showmount tries tcp then udp so a fail can go through several lengthy
waits before failing.

I've grabbed some of the autofs code and put together a patch to allow
specification of the timeouts for the portmap getport and to implement a
non-blocking connect.

Signed-off-by: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
utils/showmount/showmount.c