nfs-utils: Increase the stdio file buffer size for procfs files
authorSean Finney <sean.finney@sonyericsson.com>
Tue, 19 Apr 2011 15:04:35 +0000 (11:04 -0400)
committerSteve Dickson <steved@redhat.com>
Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:30:34 +0000 (12:30 -0400)
commit5604b35a61e22930873ffc4e9971002f578e7978
tree814c7c116b757e194e1d62a185eaf8faccf9ec74
parent9274e94db85bac04e170414cb8e0f4be271cde90
nfs-utils: Increase the stdio file buffer size for procfs files

Previously, when writing to /proc/net/rpc/*/channel, if a cache line
were larger than the default buffer size (likely 1024 bytes), mountd
and svcgssd would split writes into a number of buffer-sized writes.
Each of these writes would get an EINVAL error back from the kernel
procfs handle (it expects line-oriented input and does not account for
multiple/split writes), and no cache update would occur.

When such behavior occurs, NFS clients depending on mountd to finish
the cache operation would block/hang, or receive EPERM, depending on
the context of the operation.  This is likely to happen if a user is a
member of a large (~100-200) number of groups.

Instead, every fopen() on the procfs files in question is followed by
a call to setvbuf(), using a per-file dedicated buffer of
RPC_CHAN_BUF_SIZE length.

Really, mountd should not be using stdio-style buffered file operations
on files in /proc to begin with.  A better solution would be to use
internally managed buffers and calls to write() instead of these stdio
calls, but that would be a more extensive change; so this is proposed
as a quick and not-so-dirty fix in the meantime.

Signed-off-by: Sean Finney <sean.finney@sonyericsson.com>
Signed-off-by: Steve Dickson <steved@redhat.com>
support/include/misc.h
utils/gssd/svcgssd_proc.c
utils/mountd/cache.c