Fill in information on kernel team
authorBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 27 Jul 2011 18:33:17 +0000 (20:33 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 27 Jul 2011 19:42:21 +0000 (21:42 +0200)
index.html

index 480752b..824fe94 100644 (file)
 </div>
 
 <div class="slide">
-  <h1>Debian kernel team</h1>
+  <h1>Debian kernel team (1)</h1>
+  <p>
+    Who are we?
+  </p>
+  <ul class="incremental">
+    <li>
+      Currently 5 general maintainers: Maximilian Attems, Bastian
+      Blank, dann frazier, Moritz Muehlenhoff and me
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Many more specialised contributors:
+      <ul>
+       <li>Specific architectures</li>
+       <li>Specific features (e.g. Xen)</li>
+       <li>Bug triage</li>
+      </ul>
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Would appreciate more help, particularly with bug triage and
+      PowerPC
+    </li>
+  </ul>
+</div>
+
+<div class="slide">
+  <h1>Debian kernel team (2)</h1>
+  <p>
+    What do we do?
+  </p>
+  <ul class="incremental">
+    <li>
+      Bug triage - takes a huge amount of time
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Backport bug fixes and features - particularly new hardware
+      support for stable
+      <ul class="incremental">
+       <li>...while trying not to change kernel ABI in stable</li>
+      </ul>
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Update build configurations for each new upstream release -
+      e.g. to enable new drivers
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Try to ensure smooth upgrades when there are major
+      implementation changes - e.g. KMS, switch to libata drivers
+    </li>
+    <li>
+      Integrate <em>some</em> features not accepted upstream
+    </li>
+  </ul>
 </div>
 
 <div class="slide">